Address：No.2 Wukang Road
No.2 Wukang Road, built in 1922, covers a floor area of 2,401 sq m and a building area of 874 sq m. It is a French-style garden residence.
The building has a fake-three-floor brick-and-concrete structure, with a red-tile hipped roof and a shed-shaped dormer. The south facade has a width of three rooms and is right-and-left symmetrical. The central balcony on the south facade has a semi-circular plane, and is supported by two Tuscan columns forming a semi-circular loggia. Above the balcony is a protruding semi-circular roof. White sgraffito walls and decorations such as concrete pilasters are also of the simplified classical style. The horizontal architraves between floors are connected, and the width of the window is close to the distance between the columns. The main entrance on the north facade has a corbelled arch form, and the stone carving door decorations shrink inward layer by layer. The overall style is simple and natural, and the components and decorations have a geometric tendency.
The building was originally the residence of Mo Shangqing, the famous King of Silk in old Shanghai. In the 1950s, Ke Qingshi, Secretary of the CPC Shanghai Municipal Committee, once lived here. Later, the building served as the office of Shanghai Science and Technology Literature Publishing House.
On October 31, 2005, the site was announced by Shanghai Municipal People’s Government as a Heritage Architecture in Shanghai (under Class II Protection).